Skip to Content

Answer Explained: Which phase of cloud transformation journey identify capability gaps using AWS CAF perspectives


A company is planning its migration to the AWS Cloud. The company is identifying its capability gaps by using the AWS Cloud Adoption Framework (AWS CAF) perspectives.

Which phase of the cloud transformation journey includes these identification activities?

A. Envision
B. Align
C. Scale
D. Launch


B. Align


The correct answer is B. Align.

The cloud transformation journey is a process of moving from a traditional IT environment to a cloud-based one. The AWS Cloud Adoption Framework (AWS CAF) is a set of guidelines and best practices that help organizations plan and execute their cloud transformation projects. The AWS CAF consists of six perspectives: Business, People, Governance, Platform, Security, and Operations. Each perspective defines a set of capabilities that are owned or managed by different stakeholders in the organization.

The AWS CAF defines four phases of the cloud transformation journey: Envision, Align, Launch, and Scale. Each phase has a specific purpose and outcome:

  • Envision: This phase helps you define your vision, goals, and expected outcomes for your cloud transformation. You also assess your current state and identify your business drivers and challenges. The outcome of this phase is a high-level business case and roadmap for your cloud transformation.
  • Align: This phase helps you identify and prioritize your capability gaps by using the AWS CAF perspectives. You also evaluate and improve your cloud readiness by using the AWS Well-Architected Framework and other tools. The outcome of this phase is a detailed cloud strategy and plan that aligns with your vision and goals.
  • Launch: This phase helps you execute your cloud strategy and plan by using the AWS Cloud Adoption Readiness Tool (CART) and other resources. You also establish a cloud center of excellence (CCoE) and a cloud operating model to govern and manage your cloud initiatives. The outcome of this phase is a successful launch of your first cloud projects and workloads.
  • Scale: This phase helps you scale your cloud adoption across your organization by using the AWS Migration Acceleration Program (MAP) and other services. You also measure and optimize your cloud performance, costs, security, and compliance by using the AWS Well-Architected Tool and other solutions. The outcome of this phase is a continuous improvement and innovation cycle that enables you to achieve your business outcomes.

Therefore, the phase that includes identifying capability gaps by using the AWS CAF perspectives is Align. The other options are not correct. Envision is the phase that defines the vision and goals for the cloud transformation. Launch is the phase that executes the cloud strategy and plan. Scale is the phase that scales the cloud adoption across the organization.


Amazon AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner certification exam practice question and answer (Q&A) dump with detail explanation and reference available free, helpful to pass the Amazon AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner exam and earn Amazon AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner certification.

    Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

    Your Support Matters...

    We run an independent site that\'s committed to delivering valuable content, but it comes with its challenges. Many of our readers use ad blockers, causing our advertising revenue to decline. Unlike some websites, we haven\'t implemented paywalls to restrict access. Your support can make a significant difference. If you find this website useful and choose to support us, it would greatly secure our future. We appreciate your help. If you\'re currently using an ad blocker, please consider disabling it for our site. Thank you for your understanding and support.