Users can now delete 1:1 chats, group chats, and meeting chats if they are a participant in Microsoft Teams. This permanently deletes the chat only for the user, other people in the chat and conversation history for them is not impacted.
This message is associated with Microsoft 365 Roadmap ID 90723.
With Delete Chats, users can permanently delete entire conversations from their view. This does not affect what any other users in the chat see.
When this will happen
We will begin rolling out in early December and expect to complete rollout by mid-December.
How this will affect your organization
Users can now delete 1:1 chat threads or chat groups from the Teams desktop or mobile application. By selecting the ellipsis, users can select the Delete option to clear their chat list.
If Admins want to turn off this capability, they can do so from the admin portal under messaging policies. If turned off, users in the tenant will no longer see the delete option for their chats.
What you need to do to prepare
This feature will be enabled automatically and there is no action required at this time.
Message ID: MC466199
Product(s): Microsoft Teams
Cloud instance(s): GCC High, Worldwide (Standard Multi-Tenant), GCC, DoD
Platform(s): Mac, mobile, US Instances, Windows Desktop, World tenant
Release phase(s): General Availability
Status: In development