Skip to Content

MC360766: Loop components in Outlook Mail Preview

Updated September 21, 2022: We have updated the rollout timeline below. Thank you for your patience.

Updated September 15, 2022: We have updated the rollout timeline below. Thank you for your patience.

Updated July 13, 2022: We have updated the rollout timeline below. Thank you for your patience.

Updated June 2, 2022: We have updated the rollout timeline below. Thank you for your patience.

Updated May 10, 2022: We have updated the rollout timeline below. Thank you for your patience.

Updated April 19, 2022: We have updated the content with additional details.

Loop components are live, interactive, collaborative objects that you can embed in team chats and now also on emails. When you send a Loop component, everyone in the email can edit it inline—and see changes instantly. That means you can collaborate right inside an email message. To give it a try, compose a new email or reply to an existing one and insert a Loop component via the toolbar or copy and paste components between email and Teams chats. This message is associated with Microsoft 365 Roadmap ID 93234.

Loop components are live, interactive objects that you can embed across Microsoft 365 canvases such as chats and email to provide real-time collaboration. This feature brings support for loop components in the email messages.

MC360766: Loop components in Outlook Mail Preview

Effected Workload

  • Office for the web

When this will happen

We will begin rolling out to Outlook on the web Targeted release in early August (previously late May) and expect it to be completed by late August (previously late June).

We will begin rolling out to Outlook Windows desktop Current Channel (Preview) in early August (previously late May) and expect it to be completed by late September (previously late August).

General availability of Loop components for Outlook on the Web and Windows desktop is expected to begin in November (previously September) and complete by late December (previously late September)

How this will affect your organization

Users will be alerted of the new feature via a teaching callout and start using loop components to collaborate. No other Outlook features will be affected.

Users can compose a new email or reply to an existing one and insert a loop component via the toolbar or copy and paste components between email and team chats.

Users can compose a new email or reply to an existing one and insert a loop component via the toolbar or copy and paste components between email and team chats.

What you need to do to prepare

Loop components are enabled by default to organizations. Loop components do not currently support eDiscovery workflows. If your organization leverages eDiscovery workflows, evaluate the risks. To disable this feature for your organization, follow the instruction outlined in this article: Manage Loop components in SharePoint

To learn more about loop components and how your organization could better leverage them. Consider reading: First things to know about Loop components

Learn more

Message ID: MC360766
Published: 18 April 2022
Updated: 21 September 2022
Cloud instance(s): Worldwide (Standard Multi-Tenant)
Platform(s): Web, Windows Desktop, World tenant

    Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

    Ads Blocker Detected!!!

    This site depends on revenue from ad impressions to survive. If you find this site valuable, please consider disabling your ad blocker.