Friendster delete user history information end of May


After acquired for $40 million in 2009 by MOL Global, Friendster is changing the nature of business to more focus on games and entertainment. Hence, Friendster is going to perform some cleaning mechanism at the end of May to delete user information such as photos, blogs, comments, messages, etc. and keep only user friends lists, games details and basic profile information, according to reports.


Friendster have made an app called Friendster Exporter to let users download all of your old profile information including profile information, friends list, photos, messages, comments, testimonials, shoutouts, blogs and groups before they obliterate it so that you can keep as backup. On the Friendster help center, it says:

The Friendster Exporter is an app that helps you download or export your current Friendster information, including your profile information, your friends list, your photos, messages, comments, testimonials, shoutouts, blogs and groups. To install this app, click here or type the following URLhttp://apps.friendster.com/exporter on your browser, then follow the instructions.

If you do not wish to keep all this history or information, then you do not need to do anything. Whether you use the Exporter or not, your Friendster account will not be deleted. Your list of friends will be preserved, along with your basic profile information. Your wallet and games details will also remain unchanged.

Friendster Exporter will download your profile information as a .zip file as backup and you have options to import content to Flickr, Multiply or Photobucket.